

MINUTES

SESSION 23

INAUGURAL MEETING OF

THE COUNCIL OF

THE CORPORATION OF THE CITY OF MISSISSAUGA

MONDAY, DECEMBER 4, 2006, 7:30 P.M.

COUNCIL CHAMBER

300 CITY CENTRE DRIVE, MISSISSAUGA, ONTARIO L5B 3C1

INDEX

1.	INVOCATION	1
2.	CALL TO ORDER	1
3.	DECLARATION OF OFFICE TO MAYOR	1
4.	DECLARATION OF OFFICE TO COUNCILLORS	1
5.	BLESSING THE MUNICIPALITY	2
6.	ADDRESS BY MAYOR MCCALLION	2
7.	BENEDICTION	2
8.	DISCLOSURES OF PECUNIARY INTEREST	2
9.	RESOLUTIONS	2
10.	BY-LAWS	5
11.	CONFIRMATORY BY-LAW	5
12.	ADJOURNMENT	5

PRESENT:	Mayor Hazel McCallion	
	Councillor Carmen Corbasson	n Ward 1
	Councillor Pat Mullin	Ward 2
	Councillor Maja Prentice	Ward 3
	Councillor Frank Dale	Ward 4
	Councillor Eve Adams	Ward 5
	Councillor Carolyn Parrish	Ward 6
	Councillor Nando Iannicca	Ward 7
	Councillor Katie Mahoney	Ward 8
	Councillor Pat Saito	Ward 9
	Councillor Sue McFadden	Ward 10
	Councillor George Carlson	Ward 11

- ABSENT: NIL
- STAFF: Janice Baker, City Manager and Chief Administrative Officer Brenda Breault, Commissioner of Corporate Services and Treasurer Paul A. Mitcham, Commissioner of Community Services Martin Powell, Commissioner of Transportation and Works Edward R. Sajecki, Commissioner of Planning and Building Mary Ellen Bench, City Solicitor Crystal Greer, City Clerk Denise Peternell, Committee Coordinator

1. **INVOCATION**

Dr. Mohammed Ashraf, Islamic Society of North America.

2. <u>CALL TO ORDER – 7:30 P.M.</u>

Janice Baker, City Manager and Chief Administrative Officer, called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m. Ms. Baker introduced the newly elected Council and guests in the audience.

3. DECLARATION OF OFFICE TO HAZEL McCALLION

Jerry Redmond, Regional Senior Justice of the Peace, Ontario Court of Justice Central West Region, administered the Declaration of Office to Mayor Hazel McCallion. The City Clerk, Crystal Greer, presented Mayor McCallion with the Chain of Office.

4. <u>DECLARATION OF OFFICE TO COUNCILLORS</u>

Jerry Redmond, Regional Senior Justice of the Peace, Ontario Court of Justice Central West Region, individually administered the Declaration of Office to members of Council.

5. <u>BLESSING OF THE MUNICIPALITY</u>

Rabbi Lawrence A. Englander, Solel Congregation Synagogue.

6. ADDRESS BY MAYOR HAZEL McCALLION

7. **<u>BENEDICTION</u>**

Father Norman Roberts, St. Joseph.

8. <u>DISCLOSURES OF DIRECT OR INDIRECT PECUNIARY INTEREST - NIL</u>

9. <u>RESOLUTIONS</u>

0264-2006	Moved by:	E. Adams	Seconded by: K. Mahoney	
-----------	-----------	----------	-------------------------	--

Whereas Section 5 of Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 requires that the regular meetings of Council shall be held at 9:00 a.m. on every second and fourth Wednesday of each month unless otherwise decided by Council;

Now therefore be it resolved that the first regular meeting of the 2006-2010 Council shall be held on Wednesday, December 13, 2006 at 9:00 a.m.

Carried MG.01

0265-2006 Moved by: G. Carlson Seconded by: C. Parrish

Whereas clause (e) of subsection 64(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 establishes a Planning and Development Committee as a Standing Committee of Council;

And Whereas clause (a) subsection 66(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 identifies that the Planning and Development Committee shall comprise all Members of Council;

And Whereas subsection 67(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 directs that the membership of the Planning and Development Committee be appointed by resolution;

MG.29

Now therefore be it resolved that all Members of Council be appointed to the Planning and Development Committee for the term of Council commencing December 1, 2006 through November 30, 2010, or until a successor(s) are appointed. Carried MG.03 0266-2006 E. Adams Seconded by: K. Mahoney Moved by: Whereas clause (d) of subsection 64(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 establishes a General Committee as a Standing Committee of Council; And Whereas clause (a) subsection 66(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 identifies that the General Committee shall comprise all Members of Council; And Whereas subsection 67(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 directs that the membership of the General Committee be appointed by resolution; Now therefore be it resolved that all Members of Council be appointed to the General Committee for the term of Council commencing December 1, 2006 through November 30, 2010, or until a successor(s) are appointed. Carried MG 23 0267-2006 E. Adams Moved by: Seconded by: C. Corbasson Whereas clause (c) of subsection 64(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 establishes a Budget Committee as a Standing Committee of Council; And Whereas clause (a) subsection 66(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 identifies that the Budget Committee shall comprise all Members of Council: And Whereas subsection 67(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 directs that the membership of the Budget Committee be appointed by resolution; Now therefore be it resolved that all Members of Council be appointed to the Budget Committee for the term of Council commencing December 1, 2006 through November 30, 2010, or until a successor(s) are appointed. Carried

0268-2006	Moved by:	G. Carlson	Seconded by:	C. Parrish		
	Whereas clause (c) of subsection 64(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 establishes an Appeal Committee as a Standing Committee of Council;					
	And Whereas clause (a) subsection 66(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 identifies that the Appeal Committee shall comprise all Members of Council with the exception of clause (c) of subsection 66(1) citing that the Mayor is an <i>ex officio</i> member of the Appeal Committee;					
	And Whereas subsection 67(1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003 directs that the membership of the Appeal Committee be appointed by resolution;					
	And Whereas Council on November 29, 2006 by Resolution 0255-2006 deferred the formation of the Appeal Committee for further consideration;					
	And Whereas staff will be reporting on the composition of the Appeal Committee					
	And Whereas it is necessary to appoint Members of Council to the Appeal Committee in the interim to deal with business pending; Now therefore be it resolved:					
	Appe mont	That all Members of Council, except the Mayor, be appointed to the Appeal Committee on the basis of five (5) Councillors serving one (1) month at a time, for the period December 1, 2006 to June 30, 2007, or until a successor(s) are appointed.				
	2. That a by-law be enacted to appoint members to the Appeal Committee for the period December 1, 2006 to June 30, 2007, or until a successor(s) are appointed.					
	<u>Carried</u> MG.09					
0269-2006	Moved by:	C. Corbasson	Seconded by:	K. Mahoney		
	That a by-law be enacted to appoint an Acting Head of Council on a rotating basis for the 2006-2010 term of office.					

Carried MG.01

10. <u>BY-LAWS</u>

0439-2006 A by-law to appoint an Acting Head of Council for The Corporation of the City of Mississauga and to repeal By-law 0484-2003.

MG.01

11. CONFIRMATORY BY-LAW

0440-2006 A by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of The Corporation of the City of Mississauga at its meeting held on December 4, 2006.

MG.01

12. <u>ADJOURNMENT – 8:45 P.M.</u>

MAYOR

CLERK