

MINUTES

SESSION 17

INAUGURAL MEETING OF

THE COUNCIL OF

THE CORPORATION OF THE CITY OF MISSISSAUGA (www.mississauga.ca)

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2010 7:30 P.M.

COUNCIL CHAMBER 300 CITY CENTRE DRIVE MISSISSAUGA, ONTARIO L5B 3C1

PRESENT:	Mayor	Hazal	l McCallion
ENESCINI.	wiavoi	пале	HVICCamon

Councillor Jim Tovey	Ward 1
Councillor Pat Mullin	Ward 2
Councillor Chris Fonseca	Ward 3
Councillor Frank Dale	Ward 4
Councillor Eve Adams	Ward 5
Councillor Ron Starr	Ward 6
Councillor Nando Iannicca	Ward 7
Councillor Katie Mahoney	Ward 8
Councillor Pat Saito	Ward 9
Councillor Sue McFadden	Ward 10
Councillor George Carlson	Ward 11

STAFF: Janice Baker, City Manager and Chief Administrative Officer

Brenda Breault, Commissioner of Corporate Services and Treasurer

Paul Mitcham, Commissioner of Community Services

Martin Powell, Commissioner of Transportation and Works

Ed Sajecki, Commissioner of Planning and Building

Mary Ellen Bench, City Solicitor

Crystal Greer, Director of Legislative Services and City Clerk Jessica Reid, Legislative Coordinator, Legislative Services Division DIGNITARIES: John Creelman, Regional Senior Justice of the Peace

Dr. Arafat Elashi, Islamic Society of North America Bishop Walker, Praise Cathedral Worship Centre Father Pankiw, St. Mary's Ukrainian Catholic Church

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u> – 7:33 p.m. (Janice Baker)

Janice Baker welcomed all those present.

The Invocation was performed by Dr. Arafat Elashi.

Janice Baker introduced the members of Council for the 2010-2014 term, City staff, Dignitaries and special guests.

2. <u>DECLARATIONS OF OFFICE</u>

Justice John Creelman administered the Declaration of Office to Mayor Hazel McCallion and Crystal Greer presented Mayor McCallion with the Chain of Office.

Justice John Creelman administered the Declaration of Office to Councillors.

The blessing of the Municipality was delivered by Bishop Walker.

Janice Baker spoke about Mayor McCallion's achievements and her dedication as Mayor of Mississauga entering her twelfth term of office.

Mayor McCallion delivered her Inaugural address.

Father Pankiw performed the Benediction.

3. **DISCLOSURES OF DIRECT OR INDIRECT PECUNIARY INTEREST** - Nil

4. <u>RESOLUTIONS</u>

0293-2010 Moved by: Frank Dale Seconded by: Chris Fonseca

That a by-law be enacted to appoint an Acting Head of Council on a rotating basis for the 2010-2014 term of office.

Carried

0294-2010 Moved by: Eve Adams Seconded by: Frank Dale

WHEREAS section 66 (1) (a) of the Council Procedure By-law 0421-2003, as amended, identifies that the Standing Committees of Council shall comprise all Members of Council and subsection 67 (1) requires the members to be appointed by Resolution;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT all Members of Council be appointed to the following Standing Committees for the term of Council commencing December 1, 2010 through November 30, 2014, or until a successor is appointed:

- (i) Budget Committee
- (ii) General Committee
- (iii) Planning and Development Committee

Carried

5. <u>BY-LAWS</u>

O338-2010 A by-law to appoint an Acting Head of Council for The Corporation of the City of Mississauga for the 2010-2014 term.

6. <u>CONFIRMATORY BY-LAW</u>

O339-2010 A by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of The Corporation of the City of Mississauga at its Inaugural meeting held on December 1, 2010.

7. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u> – 8:31 p.m. (Councillo	· IVI	anoney)
----------------------------------------------	-------	---------

MAYOR
CLERK