Newsroom - Archive
City of Mississauga's Energy Manager Named Canada Region Energy Manager of the Year

Oct 30, 2019

Today at General Committee, Daniela Paraschiv, Manager, Energy Management, was recognized for receiving the Canada Region Energy Manager of the Year award from The Association of Energy Engineers (AEE). The award is for outstanding accomplishments in promoting the practices, principles and procedures of energy engineering, and for superior service to the association.
Paraschiv was presented the award at the AEE Awards Banquet on September 24, in Washington D.C.

“Mississauga is dedicated to energy conservation at City facilities and continuously looks for opportunities to support and promote environmental sustainability,” said Gary Kent, Commissioner, Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer. “Daniela’s leadership approach to conservation starts with engagement and the belief that the key to achieving sustainable energy savings is the desire to embrace innovation and change.”

Daniela Paraschiv, Manager, Energy Management is recognized at General Committee for winning the Canada Region Energy Manager of the Year from AEE.
From Left to Right:  Ward 11 Councillor George Carlson, Daniela Paraschiv, Manager, Energy Management and Mayor Bonnie Crombie Click here for photo

Kent added, “The City’s Energy Management team is committed to continuous improvement and explores ways of conserving energy City-wide through initiatives such as the Five-Year Energy Conservation Plan (2019-2023), solar panels to heat outdoor pools and solar pathway park lights.” 
The Association of Energy Engineers (AEE), founded in 1977 by Albert Thumann, is a non-profit professional society of over 18,000 members in more than 100 countries. The mission of AEE is “to promote the scientific and educational interests of those engaged in the energy industry and to foster action for Sustainable Development.” 
Media Contact:
Keisha McIntosh-Siung
Senior Communications Advisor
Strategic Communications
City of Mississauga
905-615-3200 ext. 5818