Newsroom - Archive
2016 Mississauga Urban Design Awards Winners

Sep 23, 2016

The winners of the 34th Mississauga Urban Design Awards were announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday, September 22. "Transformation by Design" was this year's theme and the City of Mississauga honoured designs that showed how the city transformed through time over the years.

The 2016 Mississauga Urban Design Awards winners are:

Award of Excellence

  • UTM Deerfield Hall


  • Streetsville Village Square


Award of Merit

  • HOT Condos: Award of Merit for Innovation, Design and Street Visibility

  • Square One Shopping Centre - North Expansion/Simons: Award of Merit for Connectivity and Future Innovation


  • Fire Station 119 & Peel Regional Paramedic Satellite Station: Award of Merit for Quality and Green Initiatives


  • Kenaidan New Office Building: Award of Merit for Building Design and Execution


Award of 'Healthy by Design'

  • HOT Condos


  • Square One Shopping Centre – North Expansion/Simons


People's Choice Award

  • Sobey's Regional Office


This year, the People’s Choice Awards category was voted on by the public on the City’s Facebook page. The other awards were chosen by select Mississauga Urban Design Awards jury members, including:

  • Mayor Bonnie Crombie
  • Ed Sajecki, Commissioner, Planning and Building
  • Olha Dobush, Director, Chronic Disease and Injury Prevention, Region of Peel
  • Philippa Campsie, Adjunct Professor, University of Toronto
  • Michel Trocmé, Urban Designer, Partner at Urban Strategies

View the Jury Report for the 2016 Mississauga Urban Design Awards program and list of winners.

The Mississauga Urban Design Awards is the longest running municipal urban design program in Ontario. For more information about Mississauga Urban Design Awards, please visit


Media Contact
Christopher Tham
Communications Advisor (A)
905-615-3200 ext. 5934
TTY: 905-896-5151