Historic Images Gallery - New!
Displaying image 890 of 1: Back to Thumbnail Images < Previous  |  Next >
Photograph - Hydroelectric Commission
  View Full size image
Title: Photograph - Hydroelectric Commission
Identifier: 2006.4.59.1
Donor: City of Mississauag
Item Date: 1968
Creation Date: 2012
Location: Bradley Museum

Conditions of Use:
See Terms of Use & Privacy Statement.
Description: A large black and white photograph with white borders. Photograph of a hydroelectric commission building in the Town of Mississauga. The building is surrounded by trees and blocked off with a wire fence.

The Toronto Township Hydro Electric Commission was established in 1917 with Reeve David McCaugherty as Chairman. Mr. Reuben Lush and Mr. Frank J. Jackson served as Hydro Commissioners. The first building was located in Port Credit, then in 1924 it moved to Town Hall, Cooksville. In 1951, a one storey red brick building was erected at 2325 Hurontario Street. This building was torn down in the early 1980s and a new head office was constructed at 3240 Mavis Road. The Toronto Township Hydro Electric Commission is now referred to as Enersource Corporation and Enersource Hydro Mississauga.

This photograph is believed to be taken at the 2325 Hurontario Street location.
Copyright: Museums of Mississauga
Rights & Permissions: Museums of Mississauaga
Related Links:
   Museums of Mississauga Home Page
   Virtual Museum of Canada
   Canadian Heritage Information Network (CHIN)