Browse & Search All Images
IMAGE DETAILS
 
Displaying image 5149 of 1: Back to Thumbnail Images < Previous  |  Next >
   
St. Peter's Anglican Church, Cemetery, Erindale
  View Full size image
Title: St. Peter's Anglican Church, Cemetery, Erindale
Identifier: PH0633
Date of Original Photo: 1976
Date Built: 1887
Image Type: B&W Photo, 11.5x7.5 cm.
Subject: Church buildings - Ontario - Mississauga
Donor: Planning & Heritage, Community Services
Location: 1745 Dundas Street West, pt. Lot 3, Conc Range 1 CIR, NDS

Conditions of Use:
See Terms of Use & Privacy Statement.
Description: 1745 Dundas Street West. Range 1 CIR, NDS, pt. Lot 3. The second church on this site. The original church, built in 1827, was of white frame construction, 52 feet long and 52 feet wide. The parcel of land on which the church was built was purchased for ten shillings by Peter Adamson, Joseph Adamson, Alexander Proudfoot, William Thompson, Frederick Starr Jarvis and Henry Carpenter. The Rev. James Magrath, who had come from Ireland with his wife and family, was appointed the first Rector. In 1887 the first church was razed to make way for construction of the second church, built of Credit Valley stone. In 1910, a tower and spire were added. Listed on the Heritage Inventory. This 1989 photo shows the south view of the church with a part of the cemetery. The cemetery stands next to the church, and is separated from the Cosmopolitan Cemetery by a row of concrete posts. In "From Strachan to Owen", William Perkins Bull wrote, "The most beautiful burying ground in Peel ... Lovely old St. Peterís. Here on a picturesque hillside site with unerring taste."
Agency: Mississauga Library System
pcomapp01:8850