COVID-19: latest updates on the City's response and service impacts
Traffic Operations
Featured Article
Community Safety Zones Increase Fines

The Community Safety Zone was introduced as a part of the provincial government's road safety strategy to address aggressive driving. An intersection or portion of a road is designated a community safety zone. These zones are used in locations where public safety "is of special concern" such as intersections experiencing a high frequency of collision, roadways near schools, daycare centres and retirement facilities. It is not intended that the entire municipality be designated as a Community Safety Zone.

Fines for traffic violations are increased considerably within the Community Safety Zone. This increased fine structure may provide sufficient deterrent to discourage aggressive driving.

A total of 6 Community Safety Zones were implemented during May 1999, of which 4 have been maintained on Creditview Road, Hurontario Street, Thorn Lodge Drive and Glen Erin Drive. Since May 1999, the Peel Regional Police have issued in excess of 1000 charges within these Community Safety Zones.

The Transportation and Works Department in concert with the Mississauga Safe Driving Committee and the Peel Regional Police, has installed Community Safety Zones in the following locations: Hurontario Street between Dundas Street and Eglinton Avenue, Dundas Street East between Cawthra Road and the east city limit, and Goreway Drive between Derry Road East and the north city limit.

Related Links:
   Citizen Report Form (PDF)

Safe Driving
More Informative Links
2020 Street Guide Available
Find any Mississauga street using the Street Guide
Buy the 2020 Street Guide ($15.75) from our eCity store or from two of our City locations. Phone 905-615-3200 ext. 3347 for more information.
  Street Guide