News release

City Receives Esteemed Awards Recognizing Dedication to Heritage in Mississauga

Local government | November 25, 2015

At today’s Council meeting, representatives from the City’s Culture, Facilities and Property Management and Parks and Forestry divisions were honoured with the Architectural Heritage Award they received at the Credits on November 5. Ward 11 Councillor George Carlson was also recognized as the recipient of the  Heritage Champion Award.

“Working on promoting and supporting Heritage in Mississauga is the best part of my job,” said Councillor Carlson. “It’s great to work with so many people who cherish our past and want to pass it along to future generations.”

Now in its third year, the Credits is an annual award gala hosted by Heritage Mississauga. It celebrates Mississauga’s heritage and features 15 prestigious awards. Each award acknowledges and honours individuals and organizations within the community that inspire and promote heritage within Mississauga.

Mississauga Celebration Square was recognized as a property or landmark that celebrates cultural heritage through architecture, while engaging the community in the exploration and preservation of shared cultural heritage in Mississauga.

“This is an outstanding achievement for the City,” said Paul Mitcham, Commissioner of Community Services. “Receiving an award like this recognizes our ongoing efforts to promote, contribute and preserve the city’s heritage. It reinforces our vision that the Square is a place where people can celebrate their culture; it’s where they want to be.”

For more information about the Credits awards, please visit:

Mayor Crombie & Councillor Carlson

Councillor George Carlson is presented with the Credits Heritage Champion Award. (L to R): Mayor Bonnie Crombie, Ward 11 Councillor George Carlson and Jake Dheer, Chair of the Credits and Member of the Board of Directors of Heritage Mississauga

City representatives presented with the Credits Architectural Heritage Award

Representatives from the City’s Culture, Facilities and Property Management and Parks and Forestry divisions were honoured with the Credits Architectural Heritage Award. (L to R):  Paul Mitcham, Mayor Bonnie Crombie, Jake Dheer, Paul Damaso, Laura Piette, Raj Sheth and Fernando Moraes.

Media Contact:
Karen Flores
Senior Communications Advisor
City of Mississauga
905-615-3200, ext. 5053
TTY: 905-896-5151