Skip to content

Student Ambassador Program

Update Sept. 9, 2020: The 2020-2021 program will begin in late Sept. 2020.

If you’re a high school student who wants to be involved in your school community and earn your volunteer hours, you can apply to become a MiWay Student Ambassador.

You’ll help to promote the benefits of public transit to your peers. It’s also a great way to learn about event planning, public speaking, digital communication and leadership.

Last updated: Sept. 15, 2020

Rank School Points
Applewood Heights Secondary School 0
Cawthra Park Secondary School 0
Erindale Secondary School 0
Father Michael Goetz Secondary School 0
Iona Catholic Secondary School 0
John Cabot Secondary School 0
John Fraser Secondary School 0
Lorne Park Secondary School 0
Loyola Catholic Seconday School 0
Meadowvale Secondary School 0
Mississauga Secondary School 0
Our Lady of Mount Carmel Secondary School 0
Philip Pocock Catholic Secondary School 0
Port Credit Secondary School 0
Rick Hansen Secondary School 0
St. Aloysius Gonzaga Catholic Secondary School 0
St. Francis Xavier Secondary School 0
St. Joan of Arc Catholic Secondary School 0
St. Joseph Secondary School 0
St. Marcellinus Secondary School 0
St. Martin Secondary School 0
St. Paul Secondary School 0
Stephen Lewis Secondary School 0
The Woodlands Secondary School 0
TL Kennedy Secondary School 0


Who can apply

You must be a registered student at a school in the Peel District School Board or Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board. You can apply as an individual or as a team of two. Only one individual or team will be chosen from each school.

The application period for 2021-22 program will be from February to April 2021.

What an ambassador does

As an Ambassador, your role is to promote MiWay and help educate your peers about the benefits of public transit.

You’ll do different activities throughout the school year, like:

  • Attend online meetings
  • Create and share social media content
  • Produce videos and radio-style advertisements

Prizes and perks

You’ll earn points for each activity you complete throughout the year. The Ambassadors who earn the most points will earn prizes like e-gift cards, Apple® AirPods, or free transit for an entire year.

Ambassadors representing the top three schools will also be recognized at a Mississauga City Council meeting. All participating schools will receive pre-loaded PRESTO cards for students.

Contact us

If you have any questions about your application or throughout the program email us at

Past winners

The winning ambassadors from previous years were:

  • Alexis John from Our Lady of Mount Carmel – 2019 to 2020
  • Kaamil Quidwai from Meadowvale Secondary School – 2018 to 2019
  • Cliantha Fernandes and Alwin George from St. Marcellinus Secondary School – 2017 to 2018
  • Shambhavi Sole and Sandy Liang from Rick Hansen Secondary School – 2016 to 2017
  • Menatalla Ibrahim from Father Michael Goetz Secondary School – 2015 to 2016
  • Jane Jomy and Uswa Zahoor from Glenforest Secondary School – 2014 to 2015
  • Nareshi Babu and Nikhita Kapoor from Stephen Lewis Secondary School – 2013 to 2014
  • Scott Hladun and Devika Matkar from Stephen Lewis Secondary School – 2012 to 2013
  • Syed Kamran and Umar Bhutta from Gordon Graydon Secondary School – 2011 to 2012
  • Miranda Pinto from Erindale Secondary School and Samriti Chand and Dhyani Patel from Port Credit Secondary School – 2010 to 2011