Book clubs

While services are limited due to COVID-19 the library is offering several online book clubs.

Registration is required for each session. Visit online programs for weekly updates and to register.

Check our catalogue for print copies or visit our OverDrive site for eBook copies. You can also borrow eBooks from Hamilton Public Library, Burlington Public Library, London Public Library and Ottawa Public Library on OverDrive.

Book clubs

Burnhamthorpe Library
Mon Jun 27 | 10 am | Turn of the Key by Ruth Ware | Register
Mon Jul 25 l 10am | Mrs. Everything by Jennifer Weiner
Mon Aug 22 | 10 am | The Perfect Nanny by Leïla Slimani

Churchill Meadows Library
Wed Jun 22 | 7 pm | Let’s Talk Books | Register

Cooksville Library
Wed Jul 27 | 7 pm | Let’s Talk Books
Wed Aug 24 | 7 pm | Let’s Talk Books

Courtneypark Library
Mon Jul 4 | 2:30 pm | The Sanatorium by Sarah Pearse
Mon Aug 8 | 2:30 pm | The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton

Lorne Park Library
Wed Jul 6 | 11 am | Let’s Talk Books
Wed Aug 3 | 11 am | Let’s Talk Books

Malton Library
Adult Book Club

Wed Jul 6 | 7 pm | Let’s Talk Books
Wed Aug 3 | 7 pm | Let’s Talk Books

Teen Book Club
Thu Jul 7 | 3 pm | Let’s Talk Books | Register
Thu Jul 21 | 3 pm | Let’s Talk Books | Register
Thu Aug 4 | 3 pm | Let’s Talk Books | Register
Thu Aug 18 | 3 pm | Let’s Talk Books | Register

Meadowvale Library
Adult Book Club
Thu Jun 16 | 7 pm | The Reason You Walk by Wab Kinew | Register
Thu Jul 21 | 7 pm | Let’s Talk Books
Thu Aug 18 | 7 pm | Let’s Talk Books

Teen Book Club
Thu Jul 14 | 7 pm | Register
Thu Aug 11 | 7 pm | Register

Sheridan Library
Wed Jul 6 | 10 am | The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah
Wed Aug 3 | 10 am | The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave

South Common Library
Tue Jun 28 | 7 pm | Let’s Talk Books | Register
Tue Jul 26 | 7 pm | The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes
Tue Aug 30 | 7 pm | Velvet Was the Night by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Streetsville Library
Thu Jun 30 | 1:30 pm | Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson | Register

Third Wednesday of the month at 10 am.

June 15 | Klara and the Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro | Register

Last Thursday of the month.

Jun 23 | 7 pm | Sufferance by Thomas King | Register (moved one week early due to July 1 holiday)
Jul 21 | 7 pm | The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer | Register
Aug 25 | 7 pm | The Guest List by Lucy Foley | Register

 

This Pride Book Club is a collaboration between Brampton, Caledon, and Mississauga Public Libraries. It is a great way to meet readers from all three communities and talk about books you may not have discovered on your own.

All are welcome to join us for this virtual book club featuring titles written by 2SLGBTQ+ (2 spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer) authors. Brampton, Caledon, and Mississauga Libraries strive to contribute to a culture that recognizes diversity and fosters social inclusion. In this book club, diverse ideas can be communicated while following our collective responsibility to uphold safer spaces for all community members.

Jun 9 | 7 pm | The Death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Emezi | Register: Eventbrite or Active Mississauga
Jul 14 | 7 pm | In the Dream House: A Memoir by Carmen Maria Machado | Register: Eventbrite or Active Mississauga
Aug 11 | 7 pm | Little Blue Encyclopedia (for Vivian) by Hazel Plante | Register: Eventbrite or Active Mississauga
Sep 8 | 7 pm | Deaf Utopia by Nyle DiMarco | Register

Connect with fellow foodies through our monthly cookbook club. Select a recipe (or two!) from the selected blog or book, cook the dish, and share your cooking experience. Second Tuesday of the month. 7-8 pm. Open to all skill levels. Ages 13+

Each date choose a recipe from a blog or cookbook from the featured chef:

June 14 | Food52 | Blog or Cookbooks | Register
July 12 | The Barefoot Contessa | Blog or Cookbook | Register
August 9 | Tastes Better From Scratch | Blog | Register