The Small Arms Inspection Building was designed in 1940. It was used as a large munitions plant for the Canadian Army through the Second World War until 1974. The City of Mississauga maintains a collection of archival items donated by a former employee that showcases the unique history and significance of this space.
Originally managed by the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority, the City of Mississauga intervened in 2008 to help protect the building from demolition. As a result, the building was designated under the Ontario Heritage Act in 2009.
In 2017, the City purchased the building to renovate it into a bright, multi-purpose, open-concept arts and culture venue. Since then, the Small Arms Inspection Building has served as a creative hub for artists in the community and played host to events of all sizes.
The City acknowledges the contributions of the Small Arms Society (CreativeHub 1352), a non-profit corporation and community partner. The group helped preserve the history of the building and continues to deliver community programming.
In 2020, the City started conducting a feasibility study to set a vision and plan for the revitalization of the north end of the building’s 24,000 square foot space. Learn about the findings from public and community engagement sessions, and the continued work on this project.
View pictures from past events and see how arts and culture programs are brought to life in the Small Arms Inspection Building.