Skip to content

More service on Derry Road starting Monday, May 10. Learn more.

Student Ambassador Program

Apply Now

The MiWay Student Ambassador Program is a fun and professional opportunity for students to represent and promote MiWay digitally, while earning volunteer hours.

Applications for the 2021-22 program closed on April 30, 2021.
Read the Official Program Rules and Regulations here.

Last updated: April 23, 2021

Rank School Points
1 Port Credit Secondary School 88
2 John Fraser Secondary School 80
3 Applewood Heights Secondary School 79
4 Loyola Secondary School 78
4 Mississauga Secondary School 78
4 St. Aloysius Gonzaga Secondary School 78
4 St. Joseph Secondary School 78
5 Iona Secondary School 77
5 Philip Pocock Secondary School 77
6 John Cabot Secondary School 76
7 Our Lady of Mount Carmel Secondary School 74
7 Rick Hansen Secondary School 74
8 Lorne Park Secondary School 72
9 Stephen Lewis Secondary School 70
10 Cawthra Park Secondary School 66
10 The Woodlands Secondary School 66
11 St. Paul Secondary School 63
12 Meadowvale Secondary School 58
13 Erindale Secondary School 55
13 St. Martin Secondary School 55
14 Father Michael Goetz Secondary School 51
15 St. Joan of Arc Secondary School 42
16 Glenforest Secondary School 26
17 St. Marcellinus Secondary School 22
18 TL Kennedy Secondary School 15


Update: Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, implementation of the 2020-2021 MiWay Student Ambassador Program was revised so that meetings can occur online, prizes can be distributed electronically (where possible), the addition of a tiebreaker activity (if required), to encourage Ambassador engagement and interactivity electronically, encourage continuous participation and to enable all activities to be completed online so the program is more accessible. View our 2020-2021 Program Rules and Regulations for details.

Who can apply

You must be a registered secondary school student at either a Mississauga Peel District Secondary School or a Mississauga Dufferin-Peel Catholic District Secondary School. You can apply as an individual or as a team of two. Only one individual or team will be chosen from each school.

The application period for the 2021-22 program will be from March 1 to April 30, 2021.

What an ambassador does

As an Ambassador, your role is to promote MiWay and help educate your peers about the benefits of public transit.

You’ll do different activities throughout the school year, like:

  • Attend online meetings
  • Create and share social media content
  • Produce videos and radio-style advertisements

View our 2021-2022 Program Rules and Regulations

Prizes and perks

You’ll earn points for each activity you complete throughout the year. The Ambassadors who earn the most points will earn prizes like e-gift cards, Apple® AirPods, or free transit for an entire year. You will also earn volunteer hours!

Ambassadors representing the top three schools will also be recognized at a Mississauga City Council meeting. All participating schools will receive pre-loaded PRESTO cards for students.

Contact us

If you have any questions about your application or throughout the program email us at

Past winners

The winning ambassadors from previous years were:

  • Alexis John from Our Lady of Mount Carmel – 2019 to 2020
  • Kaamil Quidwai from Meadowvale Secondary School – 2018 to 2019
  • Cliantha Fernandes and Alwin George from St. Marcellinus Secondary School – 2017 to 2018
  • Shambhavi Sole and Sandy Liang from Rick Hansen Secondary School – 2016 to 2017
  • Menatalla Ibrahim from Father Michael Goetz Secondary School – 2015 to 2016
  • Jane Jomy and Uswa Zahoor from Glenforest Secondary School – 2014 to 2015
  • Nareshi Babu and Nikhita Kapoor from Stephen Lewis Secondary School – 2013 to 2014
  • Scott Hladun and Devika Matkar from Stephen Lewis Secondary School – 2012 to 2013
  • Syed Kamran and Umar Bhutta from Gordon Graydon Secondary School – 2011 to 2012
  • Miranda Pinto from Erindale Secondary School – 2010 to 2011
  • Samriti Chand and Dhyani Patel from Port Credit Secondary School – 2010 to 2011