Featured Article
The Coat of Arms

The coat of arms is a ceremonial symbol used only for special purposes such as the corporate seal. Through its various components, this image is representative of the past, present and future of Mississauga.

As shown in the City Crest, the wheat sheaf represents agriculture, the cogwheel represents industry in Mississauga, and the falcon wings represent the aircraft industry. The crown, made of trilliums and Maple leaves, represents Canada's relationship with Great Britain. British crests and symbols all have crowns on top of them. The Trilliums positioned on the crown represent the flower of Ontario, while Maple leaves represent Canada. The waves at the bottom of the crest represent the river that flows through Mississauga.

The atomic symbol which appears above the crown represents the technological industries in Mississauga. There are three orbits in this figure, representing the three towns that joined in 1974 to form the City of Mississauga: Streetsville, Port Credit and Mississauga.

Flagging the internal crest, the British Officer and Mississauga Indian symbolize the "First Purchase." The officer holds a scroll which represents the treaty, and the Mississauga Indian holds four quills, which represents the four chiefs who signed it. Below these two figures is the City motto "Pride in our past, Faith in our future."

When you visit the Council Chambers, you will see the Coat of Arms hanging at the front of the room.