News release

Mississauga Council Votes to Ratify New Region of Peel Council Composition

Local government | December 23, 2020

Mississauga City Council held a Special Council Meeting this morning and voted unanimously in support of changing the composition of the Region of Peel Council. The Council of the Regional Municipality of Peel is composed of 25 members, including a chair. The changes would see City of Brampton’s representation increase to nine members (from seven), Town of Caledon’s representation decrease to three members (from five) and City of Mississauga to remain the same with 12 members.

“This is a step in the right direction to achieve a more balanced approach based on population,” said Mayor Bonnie Crombie.  “We have reviewed many scenarios and reallocating seats was the only way to achieve greater fairness.”

On November 26, 2020, Region of Peel Council passed a resolution to change its composition. Mississauga Council supported the proposed changes with a motion at its meeting on December 9. The Region of Peel held a public meeting on the topic on December 17, 2020 and passed a by-law the same day. In order to be valid, the by-law must have the majority of the three local municipal Councils pass resolutions consenting to the by-law. The City of Mississauga Council passed a resolution consenting to the by-law today.

The by-law will come into effect on the day the new Council is inaugurated following the 2022 municipal election.


Media Contact:
City of Mississauga Media Relations
905-615-3200, ext. 5232
TTY: 905-896-5151