News release

Speed Limits – Your Input Needed

Local government | July 13, 2015

The Province of Ontario is reviewing speed limits in urban areas and consulting with municipalities.  As part of this consultation, we want to hear from you to help make the right choice for Mississauga.

The City of Mississauga sets speed limits through the province’s Highway Traffic Act (HTA). The HTA also sets a default speed limit of 50 km/h on roadways within cities, towns, villages or built-up areas. The provincial default speed limit of 50 km/h is posted at all entrances to the City and at all exits from the Provincial Highway system (QEW, 403, 401 etc.)

The City reviews speed limits based on:

  • traffic engineering principles
  • roadway design
  • pedestrian traffic
  •  driving speeds

Please take a minute to read the province’s proposed options and take our short survey.

Learn more about Traffic Operations in Mississauga.

Media contact

City of Mississauga Media Relations
905-615-3200, ext. 5232
TTY: 905-896-5151