News release

Slow Down for Safety! Mississauga Continues Its Push to Lower Speed Limits

City services | April 18, 2023

Starting this spring, the City will be lowering the posted speed limit to 60 km/h on all City-operated roadways currently posted at 70 km/h. This change will help reduce the risk of collisions and make City roads safer for all users, including pedestrians, cyclists, transit users, micro-mobility device users and drivers.

“With lower speeds proven to reduce the seriousness of injuries from a collision, speed limits of 70 km/h are no longer appropriate within an urban setting like Mississauga. By continuing to lower speed limits, we’re doing what we can on City streets to discourage excessive speeds and unsafe driving behaviour that could result in significant harm or injury,” said Geoff Wright, Commissioner, Transportation and Works. “Using a data-driven approach, we are working to change our infrastructure and shift how people move around the city.”

The new speed limit applies to the following sections of Mississauga roadways:

  1. Centre View Drive (Ward 4), between Mavis Road and Rathburn Road West
  2. Courtneypark Drive West (Ward 5), between Mclaughlin Road and Hurontario Street
  3. Courtneypark Drive East (Ward 5), between Hurontario Street and Netherhart Road
  4. Eastgate Parkway (Ward 3), between Cawthra Road and Eglinton Avenue East
  5. Eglinton Avenue East (Wards 3 & 5), between a point 700 metres east of Dixie Road and east city limit
  6. McLaughlin Road (Wards 5 & 11), between Britannia Road West and Derry Road West
  7. Ninth Line (Ward 10), between the south city limit and Erin Centre Boulevard
  8. Ninth Line (Ward 10), between Tacc Drive and the north city limit
  9. Southdown Road (Ward 2), between a point 457 meters south of Lushes Avenue and a point 1,402 meters south
  10. Winston Churchill Boulevard (Wards 9 & 10), between Eglinton Avenue and Britannia Road

The change will not impact roadways or sections of roadways currently under the jurisdiction of the Region of Peel including:

  1. Britannia Road East, between Terry Fox Way to Hurontario Street
  2. Derry Road, between west of Torbram Road to Millcreek Road
  3. Dixie Road, between south Eastgate Parkway to Steeles Avenue East
  4. Erin Mills Parkway, between North Sheridan Way to Highway 407

This is the second time the City has initiated a change to city-wide speed limits. In 2020, the City started the Neighbourhood Area Speed Limit Project. The City lowered all neighbourhood speeds from 50km/h to 40km/h and school zone speed limits from 40km/h to 30 km/h.

Wright added, “Reducing speeds is just one way to help us reach our Vision Zero goal and create safer roads. We’ve also updated our pedestrian signals to provide more time to cross the street, introduced a $55 fine for parking in bike lanes and continued our School Walking Routes Program to promote active travel to school.”

To learn more about road safety, visit To learn more about Vision Zero, visit


Media Contact:
City of Mississauga Media Relations
905-615-3200, ext. 5232
TTY: 905-896-5151